I am a (Former) Makeup Hoarder


After I filmed my Makeup Collection and Storage 2014, I realized that I had a huge HUGE problem.

I am a hoarder of epic proportions. Okay, well not that dramatically.

I just have a ton of unused makeup and it’s actually products that just don’t flatter my skin tone or that I just don’t like. But for some reason, instead of throwing them away, I just hoard them and for what reason? I don’t even know.

But now,  I have grown to realize that my makeup collection is just ballooning out of control and yes, you make still think that I am exaggerating since my makeup collection is not even as big as other girls on YT, but to me,  I think I really need to just cut down on the amount that I have.

To be all fair, I am a beauty vlogger so it’s kind of what I’m supposed to be doing but at the end of the day, I have to be true to myself. Of course, this is not to say by any means that I am never gonna buy makeup because to be perfectly honest, I just can’t wait to get my hands on new makeup but this time, I’m just going to be buying what I really need want to try out and what will actually suit my skin tone.

I really don’t think that I am alone in this kind of hoarderism though. I feel like girls just get attached to their makeup-that’s how I feel sometimes personally. But there comes a time (like now) when I realize that being just gluttonous in my makeup is not pretty anymore.

So today, I decided that this must stop. It made no sense just keeping things that I clearly don’t use. I designated three piles:

1. Throw away

2. Giveaway

3. Halloween Makeup Tutorial

The first two are pretty obvious so let me explain the last one. If you have followed my channel for a while, you will know that I don’t like wearing colourful eyeshadows on my lids. I always prefer a very neutral look so I stock up quite heavily on all things NAKED. But for my Halloween tutorials which are some of my favourite tutorials, I always need colourful eyeshadow and honestly, I love doing Halloween makeup tutorials because I get to really be artistic and just different. So hence, my third point where I have decided to keep that set of makeup separately since I will just be using them once for the year. I put all my makeup to giveaway in a Sephora bag (yes, I still to have cute packaging) so that when my friends come over, they can just choose what they like-then I just threw away the ones that were really no good.

I have to say that I feel so much better now and relieved that I don’t have to stare at those things every time I open my makeup draws. My goal is to definitely keep my makeup under control and be more organized with it. In the future, I will love to have better storage and organize them better but for now, I legit am holding back on buying anything because I am saving up for my vacation.

Also, another goal is to cut down on the amount of makeup that I buy and instead, use my money for other things which I consider more important to me.  Thus, I now pronounce myself a former hoarder and from this day forward, I will no longer have attachment problems towards my makeup.

Do you find that you have this problem as well when it comes to just having a ton of makeup that you don’t want/doesn’t suit you? Let me know how you deal with it!

XO, The Classy It Girl!

 

Leave a Reply

