How I Contour & Highlight!

If you watch my makeup videos on my YouTube Channel, you know that I am obsessed with contouring and highlighting. Somehow, it just completes your entire look and I can’t go a day without it- especially contouring since I am a lover of that tanned, bronzed look. I worked really hard on this post and video so I truly hope that it helps you.

To highlight:

I would be using this Brow Highlighting Pencil by Sigma- and although it has the word ‘brow’ in it, I use it to highlight the rest of my face since I think it’s perfect for that.

brow highlighting pencilWhat I love about this is that it is dual ended and one side gives you that gorgeous matte finish, and the other side gives you a beautiful shimmery finish (in the video below, there will be swatches!)

matte side

Here is the matte side of the pencil…

shimmery side

…and the shimmery side which is perfect for that sun-kissed glow!

To blend everything in, I will be using my Sigma F70 Concealer Brush to just perfect this entire look and reduce the appearance of any harsh lines

To Contour: 

I will be using my Sigma P82 Precision Round brush which is just absolutely amazing for that precise contouring down the sides of your nose. However, it’s also a perfect brush for the application of cream eyeshadow, which we all know is a bit tricky to apply.

P82

I will be using my Benefit Hoola Bronzer to do this part of the contouring since it’s a beautifully matte bronzer which gives a subtle finish- and you don’t want to use a shimmery bronzer to contour your nose.

Benefit Bronzer

I will also be using my favourite brush in the world-the Sigma F40 Large Angled Contour brush to contour along my hairline and my temples, my cheekbones and my jawline.

F40

I pretty much do the same thing for contouring all the time so in the video, I clipped in piece from my Review & Demo of the NAKED FLUSHED palette …I have no idea why I didn’t think to film it in but it was because I realized only after I finished my makeup that I should do the entire contouring process even though y’all see it a million times. Oh well, that’s life.

Flushed Collage

Okay, now that you know all the products I used, let’s get straight into it!

HIGHLIGHTING

So my foundation is already done, and the first thing I will do is make an inverted triangle on my forehead to accentuate it, using my duo highlighter pencil.

Contour 5Collage

Next, I will draw a line down the bridge of my nose to make my nose appear straighter and narrower.

Contour 4Collage

I will make a small triangle at the base of my chin…

Contour 3Collage

…as well as right above my lips (my cupid’s bow-I love saying that for some strange reason), to make my lips looks fuller.

Contour 2Collage

For underneath my eyes, I used the Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circle Roller as a concealer/highlighter. If you have really bad under eye circles, then you can use another concealer for your under eye area. For me, I love the Garnier one because it’s tinted and it doesn’t give you that caked look- plus, I love the tingle of the caffeine. Highlighting this region will serve to accentuate your cheekbones when you contour.

Contour 1Collage

Lastly, I highlight my brow bone to make me eyes look bigger and brighter.

Contour 0Collage

Here’s a summary of my highlighting routine and why I do the things I do (haha).

Contour Collage arrows

Here’s a before and after (you know I hate these!)

Highlight Collage

CONTOURING 

I’m taking my Sigma F40 and the bronzer from my NAKED FLUSHED and sweeping it from my ear to the outer corner of my mouth. Gosh I can’t tell you how much I love doing this part!! This will make your face look so much slimmer and definitely make your cheekbones look oh-so defined.

Contour Collage5

I’m then going to sweep that along my hairline and my temples…

Contour Collage4

…along my jawline.

Contour Collage3

Grabbing my Sigma P82 and my Hoola, I’m going to sweep that along the sides of my nose, starting from the natural curve of my eyebrows, essentially completing the whole make-my-nose-straighter look.

Contour Collage2

Here’s a summary:

Contour Collage1arrows

And of course, a before and after:

ContourCollage

Here’s the video demo of my Contouring & Highlighting Routine. I hope that it helps you-don’t forget to thumbs up and subscribe!

XO, The Classy It Girl!

Leave a Reply

